Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

Scan CHOP as an Audio operator upgrades

Send us your requests for enhancements (RFEs)

Scan CHOP as an Audio operator upgrades

Postby bwanajh » Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:12 am

Scan CHOP discussion:
dawclipdemo.6.toe
(347.52 KiB) Downloaded 38 times

1.
When you scan a fileinCHOP containing audio it sounds like its playing in a different sample order (partially in reverse) It also does strange things to the stereo, seems to make it mono. However when you scan the same sound after converting to a SOP, it plays perfectly.

RFE: Have a parameter to allow static stereo CHOPS, such as those from a fileInchop to be scanned into audio without having to convert to SOP


2.
When you scan a static stereo CHOPS, such as those from a fileInchop , They will play independant from the system time, all good in the hood but it makes it hard to recognize where you are at!

RFE: Improve Scan by giving an index system, where the scan is reporting it's source's current sample being scanned(heard?), possibly even a Cue system?; at minimum a read only pulse or ramp every time it restarts(infochop?).


This way you can make things like independent play bars possible/intuitive

3.
When you scan a static stereo CHOPS, such as those from a fileInchop , Things don't exactly work in Real time, The entire set of samples seems to play through the memory of before your changes are reflected in sound. (see example)


RFE: Add a pulse to dump memory and rescan. In large edits this could cause stalls for memory, but as a pulse only used during in small edits this could be used to bring things back to realtime when play through of memory is occurring.


Example instruction:

Perform, Use lmb(start) and rmb(end) to select a larger chunk of the entire source(may stall for a few seconds as if you choose a really large section, this is ok just wait),Then choose a small chunk again, it will play though your large chunk at least once before switching to your most recent changes. Try changing the pitch to very slow and swap it reverse and forwards, the realtime doesn't seem to be perfectly reflected in this pipeline.
bwanajh
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:40 pm
Location: Manitoulin

Re: Scan CHOP as an Audio operator upgrades

Postby rob » Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:02 am

Hi.
The Scan CHOP, requires the CHOP data to be timesliced for the way you're using it.
You're on the right track trimming out a portion of the File In CHOP,
but have you considered the Audio File In CHOP?
It has many of the features you require, outputting a small section of audio at a time.

Cheers,
Rob.
User avatar
rob
Staff
 
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:14 am

Re: Scan CHOP as an Audio operator upgrades

Postby bwanajh » Sun Jul 15, 2018 9:25 am

Hey Rob thanks for the response,

I often use the stock Audio operators, but the Filein allows you to capture and play audio smoothly in reverse which can be cool when sample hunting, something the Audioops lack. I also like being able to see the entire waveform as static when trimming as this is an excellent visual aid lacking in a timesliced chop.

The idea of timeslicing after the edits looks good, it could be used to make what's heard in line with the system timeline, thus somewhat dealing with point 2. I'll look into it a bit more, thanks.
bwanajh
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:40 pm
Location: Manitoulin


Return to Wishlist and RFEs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests