Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Share your components here. First one to 100 wins!

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby attackrelease » Tue Nov 13, 2018 8:11 pm

hi spaghetti -

Are you controlling Ableton with TouchDesigner or do you have controls from Ableton sending into TD?

I recently completed a music video where I had written a bunch of automation in Ableton that was controlling parts of my TD patch. The way I made the offline render was to do a play-through of the song with Realtime turned on in TD to capture all the automation into a Record CHOP. Then, when I was doing the non-realtime rendering, I looked up the channel values based on the current frame of the timeline.

Is that the pipeline you would need?
attackrelease
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 7:16 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby sunspider » Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:25 am

Ableton doesn't have a concept of frames, so I'm not sure how "advancing the frame in Ableton" would work. You could advance the playhead position by the amount of time that would elapse in a frame if you were in realtime mode.
- Ivan DelSol
sunspider
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 8:20 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby Ivan » Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:14 pm

Posted 1.17.0 in top post.

  • Changed default OSC Ports again. There were problems on too many systems. Send feedback if you have conflicts
  • Better sorting of output channels from abletonMIDI, abletonLevel, and abletonRack components.
  • Default Note Channel options on abletonMIDI to show a range of note channels before actual notes are received
  • Fixed a bug in the Demo Set where the abletonRack was broken
User avatar
Ivan
Staff
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby kendraplex » Sat Dec 15, 2018 8:48 pm

this is awesome
kendraplex
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2018 1:25 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby nicobandoneon » Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:22 pm

attackrelease wrote:hi spaghetti -

Are you controlling Ableton with TouchDesigner or do you have controls from Ableton sending into TD?

I recently completed a music video where I had written a bunch of automation in Ableton that was controlling parts of my TD patch. The way I made the offline render was to do a play-through of the song with Realtime turned on in TD to capture all the automation into a Record CHOP. Then, when I was doing the non-realtime rendering, I looked up the channel values based on the current frame of the timeline.

Is that the pipeline you would need?


Hello! sounds great
Any tutorial on this?
nicobandoneon
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 12:19 am

Previous

Return to Shared .tox Components

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests