Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

Audio Device in problems, RME UCX, Asio drivers

Discuss graphics hardware, computer hardware, and input/output devices to use with TouchDesigner

Audio Device in problems, RME UCX, Asio drivers

Postby jdetlof » Thu Jan 28, 2016 8:03 pm

I have a problem with buffer size, when trying to achieve a low latency audio input.
The RME Fireface UCX is supposedly capable of an input latency of 2-3 msec, but whenever I try in TD to set a buffer size below 50 msec (0.05), the sound starts stuttering, pitch shifting and crackling, no matter wich sampling frequency I set in TD and RME interface, and what latency I set in the RME interface. I am using the ASIO drivers. Am I pushing TD:s limits? I see no errors in the RME interface.

Any ideas?

/Jonas
----
/Jonas Heijkenskjöld
User avatar
jdetlof
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:17 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Audio Device in problems, RME UCX, Asio drivers

Postby malcolm » Thu Jan 28, 2016 10:15 pm

You are limited by the frame time of TouchDesigner. The lowest latency you can get is 16.6ms if you are running at 60hz, but that means you *never* drop a frame. If you drop any frames you'll crackle.
To avoid crackles your buffer size needs to be at least the size of the largest time between frames that can occur.
User avatar
malcolm
Staff
 
Posts: 3873
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:11 am

Re: Audio Device in problems, RME UCX, Asio drivers

Postby jdetlof » Fri Jan 29, 2016 11:36 am

Ok, that explains it!
So if I am trying to make really fast audio reactive stuff, I could have a separate process with a much higher framerate for audio capture and analysis and a touch out chop to my audio reactive graphics...?
----
/Jonas Heijkenskjöld
User avatar
jdetlof
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:17 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Audio Device in problems, RME UCX, Asio drivers

Postby malcolm » Fri Jan 29, 2016 1:27 pm

Yes, you can set the TouchDesigner framerate higher in another process. Because Vsync will limit you to the monitors refresh rate by default, you'll only be able to get up to your target framerate in Perform Mode with VSync Disabled in the Window COMP.
User avatar
malcolm
Staff
 
Posts: 3873
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:11 am

Re: Audio Device in problems, RME UCX, Asio drivers

Postby jdetlof » Fri Jan 29, 2016 7:02 pm

Great, thanks!

Does the vsync option limit only the instance being windowed or all TD instances?
----
/Jonas Heijkenskjöld
User avatar
jdetlof
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:17 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Audio Device in problems, RME UCX, Asio drivers

Postby malcolm » Fri Jan 29, 2016 7:52 pm

If you are setting it within TouchDesigner then it's only that window.
User avatar
malcolm
Staff
 
Posts: 3873
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:11 am

Re: Audio Device in problems, RME UCX, Asio drivers

Postby aechevar » Fri Feb 10, 2017 6:19 am

Bumping this thread: could I get some assistance in setting the FPS higher for a specific process in order to reduce the latency of audio coming into Touch Designer?

I'm trying to ascertain whether the audio latency I'm getting is stemming from hardware or configuration in TD.
aechevar
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 11:14 am

Re: Audio Device in problems, RME UCX, Asio drivers

Postby malcolm » Tue Mar 14, 2017 11:13 am

Sure, can you elaborate on what your question is? What steps have you tried?
User avatar
malcolm
Staff
 
Posts: 3873
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:11 am


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest