NeuroSky MindWave EEG system

Hello,

I’m brand new to TD and I’ve been trying to read in EEG headset data from a NeuroSky Mindwave.

Here’s what I’ve hacked together using the Binary Socket Packet Format.The headset automatically starts transmitting at 1 Hz, which is fine for now (I don’t need the raw EEG data, only the highly processed eSense attention/relaxation values). See here for the format: cs.mcgill.ca/~bdever1/306/binary … otocol.pdf

I did this:

1. Set up a TCP IN DAT on port 13854 set to one row per message. This gives one message per second. So far so good, data comes streaming in.
  2. Now, I would like to parse each message. In particular, I would like bytes 0x04 and 0x05, corresponding to the eSense attention/mediation values. I tried using string operations with an Evaluate DAT, eg. ctof(substr($V,6,1)) to try and parse out something useful. Hopefully I could also get the big-endian floats for low alpha, high alpha, low beta, and high beta (at index 18-21,22-25,26-29,30-33). However, parsing this out properly has stumped me.

Eventually I would like to communicate with the server to do things like change the sample rate. It looks like I would need a JSON parser to do things properly (see developer.neurosky.com/docs/lib/ … otocol.pdf ).

Any ideas on how to parse the binary so I could get some integers and floats for the right attention/relaxation/alpha/beta bytes? My newness to tscript has been holding me back here.

jd
EEG test 1.1.toe (13.5 KB)

I’ve attached some example data from the DAT.
example data.txt (6.97 KB)

Hi jd.

A few notes:

tcp/ip really just produces a stream, not discrete messages. Even though TouchDesigner offers ‘One Row Per Message’, there’s no guarantee each row will start with AA, AA (or 170, 170)
The most reliable setup, would be ‘One Row Per Byte’ and running a script to parse one byte at a time, looking for two consecutive AA’s etc. But for now, your setup should suffice.