Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

IDS IR Camera with Video Device In, not WDM

Discuss graphics hardware, computer hardware, and input/output devices to use with TouchDesigner

IDS IR Camera with Video Device In, not WDM

Postby DavidBraun » Fri Feb 09, 2018 5:22 pm

I'm using an IDS IR uEye camera (UI336xCP-NIR) with the latest drivers. I have a 120 fps monitor and TD project (TD 2017.15960 on Windows 10). When I use a Video Device In TOP and select WDM as the library, the camera works. However, if I select Imaging Development Systems (IDS) as the library, I get no image ("Error: Unable to connect to device"). Why am I getting this error? Is there any benefit to using the IDS drop-down option rather than WDM? Thanks.
DavidBraun
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 1:35 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: IDS IR Camera with Video Device In, not WDM

Postby jdetlof » Sat Feb 10, 2018 2:09 pm

Can you report anything on latency using that setup? (using WDM then). I´m looking at the same camera...
----
/Jonas Heijkenskjöld
User avatar
jdetlof
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:17 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: IDS IR Camera with Video Device In, not WDM

Postby DavidBraun » Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:12 pm

I think it's a steady 120 fps and the cook time is only 0.047 ms. I'm still curious if there's any benefit to the other option.
DavidBraun
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 1:35 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: IDS IR Camera with Video Device In, not WDM

Postby DavidBraun » Thu Mar 01, 2018 4:36 pm

Now I think I'm encountering an issue from using WDM instead of the native option.

The Video Device In has an Options parameter. Through this panel I can adjust the pixel clock, frame rate, and exposure of the IDS camera. If I save the TD file and reopen, I get this error pop-up:
Warning: Skipping unrecognized parameter "options value: Device Output (project1/videodevin.parm)" (/project1/videodevin1)

What can I do to save camera settings in between project opens? I've also tried using the uEye utility called uEye Cockpit, but that doesn't preserve settings either.
DavidBraun
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 1:35 pm
Location: Chicago


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests