Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

Philips Hue

General discussion about anything TouchDesigner

Philips Hue

Postby fHainer » Mon Jun 02, 2014 5:29 pm

Hi,

has somebody experience with connecting Philips Hue to touch? Curently i am balancing reasons to buy it...

thx
fHainer
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:30 am

Re: Philips Hue

Postby mkohler » Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:40 pm

I tried with this and was able to get them to react, but the hue doesent really support 'real time' control. you can sort of turn them on and off but Im not sure if the library has gotten any better.....

https://code.google.com/p/studioimagina ... python_hue

Turning the lights on and off does make for an interesting python lesson however....
User avatar
mkohler
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 8:36 pm

Re: Philips Hue

Postby rob » Tue Jun 03, 2014 8:42 am

Interesting device.
What's the bottle neck for realtime performance?
User avatar
rob
Staff
 
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:14 am

Re: Philips Hue

Postby mkohler » Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:04 pm

I found that the biggest bottleneck for performance was the RESTful API. Also, the bulbs are setup to make full spectrum white, and thus their green performance is not so great, so colors that look right on paper do not come out as saturated as one would hope
User avatar
mkohler
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 8:36 pm

Re: Philips Hue

Postby lightnotes » Mon Apr 10, 2017 5:38 am

Well after few tester... i can access to my HUE Light from TD. And i can control Brightness, Hue and Saturation, turn on/off each light.... i tried with 3 of them. Also can make transitions between them...

So i connected to all my sensor device to make interactive stuff... nice sweet and WIRELESS!!

But you need to install this 2 library to make it work right!

https://github.com/quentinsf/qhue
https://github.com/studioimaginaire/phue (for this one after install "pip install phue", you need to download the zip from the link, unzip it and copy folder phue-maste (i renamed to phue) to site-packages in python folder)

after that you can add python code and configure them...

And yes there is a bottleneck, if you connect a slider to hue/sat/bri the FPS goes down to 4-5... but if you send a constant parameter works fine and fast

Regards

Javo
Attachments
hue light.png
hue light.png (116.51 KiB) Viewed 2414 times
Light Interactive design
http://www.lightnotes.es

contact: +34 691480862
mail: hello[a]lightnotes.es
lightnotes
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 6:03 am
Location: Madrid

Re: Philips Hue

Postby mkohler » Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:58 pm

Oh interesting, do you have a sample TD project to post that implements this? I totally want to control my lights at home from TD and I have a mix of Hue, Artnet, and sACN stuff
User avatar
mkohler
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 8:36 pm

Re: Philips Hue

Postby lightnotes » Tue Apr 24, 2018 12:40 pm

mkohler wrote:Oh interesting, do you have a sample TD project to post that implements this? I totally want to control my lights at home from TD and I have a mix of Hue, Artnet, and sACN stuff


you have the info in the previous picture :D
Light Interactive design
http://www.lightnotes.es

contact: +34 691480862
mail: hello[a]lightnotes.es
lightnotes
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 6:03 am
Location: Madrid

Re: Philips Hue

Postby raganmd » Sun Nov 25, 2018 10:57 pm

old thread here, but some new tricks.

I've been working with zoe sandoval to add extensions and make a more modular approach for this puppy. Took a moment to clean-up the documentation as well, so there's at least a little get you started.

If you're interested, you can take a look:

https://github.com/raganmd/touchdesigner-hueControl
raganmd
 
Posts: 1352
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 5:21 am
Location: San Francisco, CA


Return to General TouchDesigner Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests