Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

Windows 7

General discussion about anything TouchDesigner

Windows 7

Postby jdrober9 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:07 pm

Hi guys ,In the past I ran an installation on a windows 10 PC unit and recently was asked to run it again, since I have designed for the room. Only problem is they say they have ran their PC back to Windows 7 . None of the graphic cards have changed(I think). Since they don't really know anything about this and I am remote and cannot open the project until I am site. Any advice on problems that i may encounter running with an older windows system or will it even encounter problems?
thanks for any advice,
Jeremy
jdrober9
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 3:21 pm

Re: Windows 7

Postby nettoyeur » Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:24 pm

I would say it will probably run fine (many people still run all their TD installations strictly only in win7, because it is better to manage & all drivers are more mature), but it also depends on your project. For instance Kinect2 only works on Windows10.
Idzard Kwadijk | freelance TouchDesigner consultant | LinkedIn
Checkout ChopChopChop.org - the TouchDesigner marketplace!
nettoyeur
 
Posts: 961
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:00 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: Windows 7

Postby jdrober9 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:06 pm

yes , i do use the kinect 2 (two of them actually )but i patch those in with another computer and or laptop with windows8/10 and the send the information over the network so i figured that would not be a problem. Er, I hope not ?
jdrober9
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 3:21 pm

Re: Windows 7

Postby nettoyeur » Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:08 pm

If you don't use any kinect CHOP/TOP operators, that part will be fine.
Idzard Kwadijk | freelance TouchDesigner consultant | LinkedIn
Checkout ChopChopChop.org - the TouchDesigner marketplace!
nettoyeur
 
Posts: 961
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:00 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: Windows 7

Postby jdrober9 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:50 pm

nope just a touch in from the other interface . Thanks nettoyeur
jdrober9
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 3:21 pm

Re: Windows 7

Postby elburz » Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:01 am

I try to always use Win7 if I can. Have done installs with Win10 and everything is just harder to manage and I don't find any benefit to win10 unless you need a kinect 2.
--
Elburz Sorkhabi
Creative + Technology
nVoid Art-Tech Limited
http://nvoid.com
elburz
 
Posts: 2001
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:55 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Windows 7

Postby arctor023 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 2:10 pm

hi everyone!

i have freshly installed windows 7 ultimate besides my mac sierra os.
however i've had issues to do security updates, because microsoft has aborted support for win7 last year, how many of you will definetly already know.
i am trying to patch it via "zeffy's wufuc patch", but would like to know, if there will be any further issues because of the lack of updates for kaby lake processors .

i have an i7 7700k on an asus z270g along with an evga gtx 1080 ti2.

i have already had issues in td with the clock-measurments and could not fix them yet...is this because of the missing secirity-updates for kaby lake?

i really don't want to update to win10..i originally come from linux and going the apple-way was already a pain in the ass..
arctor023
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 8:33 am


Return to General TouchDesigner Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 5 guests