Connected points. GLSL or particle

Hi!

Im new to touchdesigner. I have been using processing a lot before and are more used to code. I want to make a particle system where every particle is connected to the other particles with lines according to the distance. I can easily code this in processing but how do I manage in good way in touchdesigner? Shall I look into building GLSL shaders?

In processing I would have treated every particle as an object, giving them individual velocity, deciding their starting position etc. Then I would connect the different objects to eachother with lines while looping through the objects.

But how can I manage the same in touchdesigner in the best way. on the GPU? Can I do all this coding in a shader?

hi acroscene, welcome to the forum.
If you search the forum for “plexus” you’ll find some C++ variants.

That said, the best performing option on the GPU will be if you write a shader for it.
A good approach for this would be to first generate some CHOP noise (x,y,z) where you want your particles to be, feed this CHOP to a Geometry COMP to use geometry instancing to create a circle (particle) on all locations. See here a tutorial on geometry instancing: matthewragan.com/2014/04/23/ins … hdesigner/

Then you would need to write a GLSL Material which has has a geometry shader to create new lines between those particles, probably depending on the current distance between two particles to see if that is within your set threshold to draw a line.

TouchDesigner mostly assumes you have learned your GLSL knowledge using the abundant resources available online elsewhere, instead of from the TouchDesigner documentation - so this is something you will have to find yourself. Once you know a bit of GLSL it is easy to apply that code in GLSL nodes. Once you are at the point you already have some GLSL knowledge and are ready to implement this in TD, this page will be your bible: How to write a GLSL Material.