Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

Install error on Win7 SP1

General discussion about anything TouchDesigner

Install error on Win7 SP1

Postby Arti G » Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:24 pm

I can't install newest version of TD. At the beginning I get this error:
sdgfdgdf.jpg
sdgfdgdf.jpg (42.55 KiB) Viewed 2069 times

Install log:
MSI46a7.LOG
(260.7 KiB) Downloaded 37 times

I have Win7 SP1 with all updates, this one KB2545698 is installed for sure.
Any idea? I tried /bypassHotfixCheck and it isn't working. Also tried every tool from MS to check and repair updates.
Arti G
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:03 pm
Location: Białystok, Poland

Re: Install error on Win7 SP1

Postby elburz » Sat Feb 10, 2018 7:17 am

Strange, in the meantime to get it working you can make a new windows environment variable called
Code: Select all
TOUCH_ALWAYS_START
and set the value to
Code: Select all
1
. This bypasses some of TouchDesigner's built in checking.
--
Elburz Sorkhabi
Creative + Technology
nVoid Art-Tech Limited
http://nvoid.com
elburz
 
Posts: 1996
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:55 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Install error on Win7 SP1

Postby Arti G » Sat Feb 10, 2018 10:10 am

I tried it but nothing changed, I still can't install it.
My friend who also has Win7 SP1 also have same error on installation start.
Only on my very old PC with Win7 SP1 that wasn't updated for some years install is working :shock: It's too old to even run Touchdesigner, but can install it :P
Only workaround I've found working is to install TD on an old NOT UPDATED Win7 SP1 or newer Windows and later copy installed TD folder to another PC.
Hope someone will repair hotfix check in next version of TD installer. Or at least give bypass option like Oculus driver has.

Installs not working are: 15960, 16360
Arti G
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:03 pm
Location: Białystok, Poland

Re: Install error on Win7 SP1

Postby ben » Sun Feb 11, 2018 2:13 am

Review this help article and see if it helps.

http://www.derivative.ca/wiki099/index. ... chDesigner
User avatar
ben
Staff
 
Posts: 2304
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: Install error on Win7 SP1

Postby Arti G » Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:53 am

There is nothing that could help. :(
Arti G
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:03 pm
Location: Białystok, Poland

Re: Install error on Win7 SP1

Postby snaut » Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:58 am

Hey,

I could see in the log file that the installer returns an Error 1603 which is described on the Microsoft website here: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... allation-e

As a temporary workaround, you can try unpacking the installer and running TouchDesigner from the Installation folder directly.

Code: Select all
TouchDesigner099.2017.xxxxx.64-Bit.exe /extract "c:\myFolder"


The extracted folder will contain 2 levels down the 3 Folders that hold all of the relevant Folders: bin, Config and Samples. These you can copy to any location on your harddrive and run TouchDesigner099.exe inside the "bin" folder.
The main extract folder also holds the vc_redist.x64.exe in case you windows distribution is missing some parts of the c++ redistributable.

Otherwise TouchDesigner should be fully functional.

Please let me know if this works in the interim

Best
Markus
User avatar
snaut
Staff
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: Install error on Win7 SP1

Postby rs3dtouch » Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:34 am

Thanks again Markus, this is still the only solution to install the newest version on my system :-)
rs3dtouch
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:49 am

Re: Install error on Win7 SP1

Postby joescarr » Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:11 pm

I get the same error message when installing TouchDesigner099.2018.24410.64-Bit.exe on Win7 SP1

"TouchDesigner cannot be installed on your system. Please make sure the Platform update for Windows7 SP1 (KB2545698) is installed."

So I download the actual KB2545698 update from Microsoft and try to install but it reports:

"The update is not applicable to your computer."

Will extract the files as recommended, but would be nice to have this resolved...

thanks!
joescarr
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:08 pm

Re: Install error on Win7 SP1

Postby sens » Thu Oct 11, 2018 5:44 pm

same here :(
sens
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 3:15 pm

Re: Install error on Win7 SP1

Postby snaut » Fri Oct 12, 2018 9:12 am

If possible could you run the following:

Code: Select all
"C:\MyFolder\TouchDesigner0xx.xxxxx.xx-Bit.exe" /L*V "example.log"


to generate a installer log file and send it to support@derivative.ca? Maybe we can get to the bottom of this issue.

Best
Markus
User avatar
snaut
Staff
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Toronto

Next

Return to General TouchDesigner Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests