Help with Mapping DMX LED Strips

hi guys, I,m very new to the forum. My background is animation. I have a modest grasp of TD.

I am trying to connect a series of 10-12 DMX LED strip Tubes with (32 leds in each tube(which i guess would mean 128 channels(rgb+dimmer)) and map it to RGB values from a movie top.

for the moment i,m\ using a enntect DMX usb pro 1 but eventually plan to connect a 100 of these end to end using an artnet.

i am not able to wrap my head around as to how to go about creating a rig to map the leds to a pixel area which then i could extend if additional tubes were installed.

if any1 can help , i would much appreciate it. :mrgreen:

Hey,

welcome to the Forum.
You can get the color values of a TOP into CHOP channels via TopTo CHOP. This will give you 4 color channels r,g,b,a which sequenced via the Shuffle CHOP will give you the wanted rgbargba… sample sequence you need to send to a DMX device.

To sample the correct 32 values from the TOP, I usually use a SOP of some kind as it’s simple to position and with that select a portion from the TOP which you want to send to the LED Strips.

Have a look at attached example and let me know what you think. You can add more Lines and merge them or use the Copy SOP for when you want to attach more LED strips. Only thing to watch out for is that you need to split the channels (can also be done with the Shuffle CHOP) eventually to fill multiple universes.
basicLEDSetup.toe (4.49 KB)

hey thanx snaut, sorry wsnt able to respond sooner ,

since i,m quite a noob when it comes to light fixtures, it took me a while to wrap my head around the relationship between pixels and channels, and was kinda hitting a wall,the example was wot i needed to understand dmx interfaces with pixels :stuck_out_tongue:

so as it stands each tube has a pair of 16 pixels with rgb values of 48 channels per tube,