University project

Hey

I am currently studying at Glasgow Caledonian University in Scotland. For a 4th year project I am investagating into alternate methods of control with a digital instrument. By alternate I mean not a MIDI keyboard or a drum pad.

My idea is to create a 3D box that can be interacted with via a touch screen so the user can play sounds and effect audio (more details can be posted if necessary).

To do this I was wanting to use the derivative software, Ableton live 8 and a touch screen.

Through anyones experience with derivative here is this project possible using derivative software?

Regards

B :smiley:

Yes, TouchDesigner would be ideal for such a project. A box can be setup to send unique MIDI signals out from Touch when you interact with it in different ways, these can control parts of the LIVE interface. To communicate the other way, you can send detailed OSC messages from Ableton to TouchDesigner through Ableton’s MAX4Live plugin. TouchDesigner FTE is free to use for educational purposes and includes all the features necessary for such a project.

Hey Ben

Thanks for your help, I am really happy that this is possible. I will keep updates of my progress on the forum.

Regards
Doug

Hi Ben
I recently had a meeting with my lecturer about the project I am undertaking using Derivative, Ableton and touch screen technology. He was excited with my proposal and felt that the project is so unique that if done correctly he would put it forward to be published through the Audio Engineering society. As you can imagine this is now a very exciting prospect as I believe the creative possibilities of Derivative, Ableton and touch screen technology are endless.
Unfortunately I am still at a very basic stage of using derivative and as any project I only have a certain amount of time (4 weeks). My project plan is as follows:

1. 3D cube where each side has a set of controls for audio and visual manipulation.