FIXED: DMX Mac problems

Hi guys , im new in touch Designer , i have some problems with DMX out Chop, i can see the device in the parameters panel but i always have a warning alert with the legend : "Could not connect with the device. Its because the operating system ? i’m in OSX

I haven’t worked with DMX, but if you’re using USB 3.0 you could try connecting it to a USB 2.0 port. Once I had connection problems with a Kinect and that was the solution.

I’m assuming you followed the directions for DMX out CHOP in the wiki?

derivative.ca/wiki099/index.php?title=MacOS

Thanks guys , but its not working , in terminal i have this error:

( kernel) Kext com.apple.driver.AppleUSBFTDI not found for unload request.
Failed to unload com.apple.driver.AppleUSBFTDI - (libkern/kext) not found.

i tried to follow this tutorial:

learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/ho … c#yosemite

and also tryied the chapter 7 of this pdf:

ftdichip.com/Support/Documen … AC_OSX.pdf

The DMXUSB pro works perfectly with other softwares.

by the way im running in OSX el capitan , maybe i need to update?

When we first resolved this problem it was on El Capitan, so not sure that is the issue. I think the error indicates that it was already unloaded. I.e. if you load it first with

sudo kextload -b com.apple.driver.AppleUSBFTDI

and then unload it

sudo kextunload -b com.apple.driver.AppleUSBFTDI

you probably won’t have that error.

What other softwares are you using it with? Maybe try

kextstat | grep -i ftdi

to see if there’s anything else that might need to be unloaded?

I also had a case where we had to restart the mac after unloading before it would work.

thank you so much, now it works perfectly in touchDesigner but the DMXUSBPRO can’t be recognized by openframeworks, i mean, if touchDesigner detects it, it’s not detected in openframeworks an viceversa, obvisuly because the script.

I’m glad it is resolved, but unfortunate that you can’t use it with both softwares at the same time.