Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

Complex Mapping Setup - can TouchDesigner do it?

Still a little green? Ask your beginner's questions here

Re: Complex Mapping Setup - can TouchDesigner do it?

Postby bwheaton » Thu Sep 21, 2017 3:33 pm

Ever work out the remote Camschnappr problem?

If we had some sort of 'next point' and adjust LRTB it would get close enough for touch-ups, of not major work.

Going to enter the maze again...

Bruce
bwheaton
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 1:33 am

Re: Complex Mapping Setup - can TouchDesigner do it?

Postby raganmd » Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:17 pm

Hey Bruce -

Not yet. I'd have to dig in again to have the right perspective. Using stoner remotely what we do is to run stoner locally then stream over the various tables that are making it work. All of that runs on top of some logic to sort out which machine we're talking to, and which output so we're only streaming relevant changes.

I think you'd have to sort out a way to fake both sides of the UI on your remote as a way to see both model space and screen space - then you might be able to get away with just sending over a transform matrix to your target camera / projector. Best case scenario you'd have some additional feedback out your projector to see your alignment points. I don't think it'd be a huge endeavor, mostly just a pain to plot out and plan a solid approach - then lots of testing.
raganmd
 
Posts: 1241
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 5:21 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: Complex Mapping Setup - can TouchDesigner do it?

Postby bwheaton » Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:23 pm

Right, I see your approach. I have a frankenstein containing stoners and storage too. But I'm looking for a quick fix first....

And it looks like the keyboard commands are in a macro that could be copied easily to an OSC type system...

This isn't for a real saved structure, just accessing a camschnappr remotely.

Since I'd presume every amateur schnappr has to deal with this at some point, should make a good RFE - some sort of standard control protocol.

I'll report back, but like I say - looks doable.
bwheaton
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 1:33 am

Re: Complex Mapping Setup - can TouchDesigner do it?

Postby bwheaton » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:05 pm

Ok, yes, that’s the bomb. Best canscnappr experience I’ve ever had. I just made a radio set to pick points, and coarse and fine movements (slider for coarseness). Sent via OSC to multiple schnapps.
I’ll post my bodge, but it should definitely be a core feature.
bwheaton
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 1:33 am

Re: Complex Mapping Setup - can TouchDesigner do it?

Postby raganmd » Fri Sep 22, 2017 12:31 pm

Can't wait to see what you've come up with Bruce!
raganmd
 
Posts: 1241
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 5:21 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: Complex Mapping Setup - can TouchDesigner do it?

Postby enthewhite » Tue Mar 13, 2018 3:59 pm

Hi Bruce, I'm trying to figure out how to trigger these camschnappr macros (movePoint tab, movePoint up, movePoint down, etc..) with OSC. Is that how you accomplished it? Did you have to use tscript?
User avatar
enthewhite
 
Posts: 245
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Complex Mapping Setup - can TouchDesigner do it?

Postby bwheaton » Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:12 pm

Never touch tscript!

I’ll have to dig it up, but I believe I had to grab the macro stuff and put it in another module that I could trigger. Not really a long term solution, which is why I didn’t share.. but it was well worth the few hours work.
bwheaton
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 1:33 am

Re: Complex Mapping Setup - can TouchDesigner do it?

Postby enthewhite » Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:46 pm

haha! I will steer clear.

I figured out how to run the macros! Here is the first example of simulating the tab key: (assuming your camschnappr component is at root)

Code: Select all
op('/camSchnappr/camSchnappr/local/macros/movePoint').run('tab',fromOP=op('/camSchnappr/camSchnappr'))
User avatar
enthewhite
 
Posts: 245
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Complex Mapping Setup - can TouchDesigner do it?

Postby bwheaton » Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:54 pm

Oh, cool, thanks!

That would have saved some time, but the whole approach saved so much time and heartache, I don't mind! :D
bwheaton
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 1:33 am

Previous

Return to Beginners

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests