Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

FragTool

Share your components here. First one to 100 wins!

FragTool

Postby keithlostracco » Thu Dec 25, 2014 8:21 pm

Thought it would be good to finally share FragTool with everyone. It's not in a perfect state at the moment but I'm not sure when I'll have time to work on it more so I figured it would be a good day to post it.

Eventually I'll try and make some better documentation and or some video tutorials but here is quick run down of how it works. There are a number of features, I won't go into too much detail at the moment but this should be enough to get going.

On the left side is a panel with a radio button at the top that changes which controls are being displayed.

Formula Tab:
- select the DE surface formula (a fractal or any other DE function (distance estimation))
- iterations has will have an impact on quality and performance
- a lot of formulas will just be a cube with base settings.

Color and Light:
- adjust shading and lighting
- there are two color formulas - the second is more expensive
- shadows and reflections are both expensive (reflections more so) environment map is a cheap light reflection look

LFOs: are modulation sources route-able to any parameter selected in the mod-matrix (future UI will have the mods able to be assign directly in the gadget again)

Render:
- adjust render settings
- Detail, FudgeFactor, and MaxRaySteps will all have an impact on quality and performance.
- Standard mode renders one image per frame - useful for realtime and or general use
- Progressive is an accumulated render that renders the same frame many times to get better smoother detail and a relatively realistic DOF
- the DOF settings are no longer connected (but can be easily) they are for standard mode and use a depth map for a fake DOF
- GL_RenderMix will turn on a COMP with a regular render TOP in it. The compositor will then mix both the raymarched render with OpenGL render using depth data from both. With this function it is possible to have the raymarched surface being occluded by regular geometry and vice-versa. The render TOP in the GL_Render COMP must use the camera it's pointing to in order to have the same camera/projections matrices.

The right tabs:

Camera:
-use controller cross to switch between controller mode and and UI mode
-there are three options for controller mode, 3dx, 3dx SpaceNav and Mouse/Keyboard. When using mouse mode the use WASDRFQE keys to translate tx,ty,tz and rotate z. The mouse is then used to rotate x and y by clicking and dragging in the viewer. Press H to reset the camera.

GeoGL:
- there is a table in GL_Render called parameters that if filled will make gadgets here that are able to be modulated and animated

ModMatrix:
-routes mod sources to any parameters

All parameters in the tabs can animated. Create a key in their respective animation COMP by pressing the K button. The slider will now become relative to the animation timeline and will set a key when moved and let go of. It will then snap back to zero. Edit animation in the animation editor at the bottom. You can turn off animation of particular channel by clicking the K button again. The animation data will still be there if turned back on unless the channel is deleted, in which case it will make a fresh channel again with it's start and end values being the current slider value.

The top middle area stores and recalls presets. The radio button selects which panel to store or recall (either just one or all of them). The presets will store all mod, animation and parameter data.

There is also an audio processing / modulation setup, a camera take recorder / sequencer.
I'll have to go into more detail at a later time.

You can either export a movie in standard mode by pressing the export button, or you can do a progressive render by pressing the Prog Render button.

All sliders have coarse, fine, finer, finest control - left click, lc + ctrl, lc + alt, lc + ctrl-alt respectively.


Also one very important thing:


Because of the nature of fractals and raymarching with certain settings render time can be very long. Most fractals can render at 60 fps on a Titan or 980 with the right settings but with certain settings and resolutions the framerate can drop down to 2 min frame or more... Without setting a proper key in the registry to tell Windows that it's okay that the video card is not responding your video card can crash - either just Touch or Windows altogether. This isn't as much of an issue now that it has the progressive renderer which keeps Touch's framerate high while rendering a high quality render, but the default TDRDelay timeout setting is 2 seconds

To fix the issue, create this registry value
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\GraphicsDrivers\TdrDelay

Disclaimer- I cannot be held responsible for machines and brains crashing, melting or exploding from heavy use of FragTool. :D

Also I just remembered that I have no idea if it will work on an ATI card... It may not, a while ago ATI wasn't happy about floats set with integer characters, since then I've been pretty diligent but some of the GLSL code was written a while ago.

I think the whole patch needs a new UI and preset system which I would like to do in the future but for now I think it could be fun to use.

happy holidays!
cheers
Keith

Updates:

Progressive Render no longer clears to black on first frame which makes for a faster better render. ProgRender's AnitAlias scale is now in pixel range so a value of at least 2 or 3 is now needed. When recalling presets made from before this change the value recalled will be about .67 which will have no effect and needs to be manually set higher.

Space bar starts/stops the timeline now rather than "b". > re-starts the timeline at frame 1.

Fixed fields not updating slider positions.

Save image button now works again. This will save a jpeg and a tiff file of the current output in the project folder.

Preset morphing is now fixed. This will probably get called something else in the future because it is more like preset animating. To use:

- make a bunch of presets of the same formula type
- select the initial/start preset
- open the Preset Morph window
- select the group to morph (usually formula)
- press initialize (this will make keyframe channels for all parameters in the group)
- next select a preset in the Preset Morph list and press copy preset to make keyframes of that presets values
- you can turn "Quick Copy" on which will key the preset when selected for fast creation of keys

When exporting movies I would recommend using only progressive render. Set the render parameter "Render" to Progressive then press the "Prog Render" button to choose a folder to render out a tiff sequence. The "Export" button does work to open the export movie dialog but the timeline will be set the root timeline which is not the time that the animation or LFO's use. If you want to use the Export Movie Dialog you'll need to set the Timepath to "/FragTool/Anim_LFOs_Mods" manually and then close and reopen it to initialize the start and end frames. You can also leave the time path but then the render will just start and the current time. Progressive Render is much better quality also.
Attachments
FragTool 3_5_Public.toe
This version should work fine in Official 099 builds
(6.35 MiB) Downloaded 872 times
FragTool 3_4.toe
This version works in 088
(1.45 MiB) Downloaded 1947 times
Last edited by keithlostracco on Thu Apr 26, 2018 3:11 pm, edited 18 times in total.
keithlostracco
 
Posts: 875
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 2:39 pm

Re: FragTool

Postby heidrogen » Thu Dec 25, 2014 9:18 pm

Aww yeah Keith here it is! Thanks for sharing :)
heidrogen
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 9:54 pm

Re: FragTool

Postby barakooda » Fri Dec 26, 2014 2:52 am

Keith you are a monster! :-)
thank you for the holidays gift.

Happy Holidays to you too.

Barak.
User avatar
barakooda
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:08 pm

Re: FragTool

Postby ruigato » Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:15 am

this is amazing!

thank you Keith, blowing my mind right now
User avatar
ruigato
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 11:42 am
Location: Portugal

Re: FragTool

Postby Guillaumeb » Sat Dec 27, 2014 2:49 pm

Thank you for this!

The Quadro 2000 I have running is not having a fun time at 4-5 fps, but exploring that patch is exactly what I needed after following about every tutorial/e-book there is out there on TD (They are immensely helpful to teach you the basics and potentials). The endless possibilities they told us were in TD are finally presented to us in a realistic, functional and goal oriented (big patch with multiple layers and containers) way.

Anyways, thank you very much for sharing this patch which clearly took ALOT of hours to patch!
Guillaume Bourassa
Creation + Technology + Interaction
Creation Ex Nihilo.com
Guillaumeb
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 5:07 pm

Re: FragTool

Postby keithlostracco » Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:52 pm

No problem everyone, I'm stoked to share.

Just uploaded a newer version with some fixes and cleaned up a little bit. Still want to redo he presets but everything seems to be working decently at the moment.

cheers
Keith
keithlostracco
 
Posts: 875
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 2:39 pm

Re: FragTool

Postby rodberry » Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:00 am

tempting me to buy a new laptop, have to spend it on that pesky food stuff though.

GTX260m went straight to terminal black-screen. can't fight progress.

a GTX970 for the old desktop is probably on the cards very soon though... :)

thanks for sharing.

Rod.
User avatar
rodberry
 
Posts: 1068
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:51 pm
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

Re: FragTool

Postby keithlostracco » Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:28 pm

Sorry to hear that Rod. Yeah I don't think a 260M will do so well...

Just uploaded a new version that has some of the lightest settings possible when loaded. It's almost holding on 60 fps on a 780M on my laptop.

Pretty much looking at minimum 780M or 680 desktop GPU. Otherwise it won't be very useful. Either way it's more of production tool than a realtime tool. It's possible to run some decent formulas at 60 - 30 fps at 720p but it's pretty limited.

I thought of something last night though. When I have some time I'll make a tile rendering mode that will only render a portion of the image every frame. It might take 16 frames to get the full image but at least this way the computer and the UI are still usable while it's updating.
keithlostracco
 
Posts: 875
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 2:39 pm

Re: FragTool

Postby barakooda » Mon Dec 29, 2014 5:38 pm

Keith,
publish video that shows how to use it, you will get lots of feedback that way.
I have tested it even with this machine :
http://www.passmark.com/baselines/V8/di ... 4057650344
its works fine and look good( ~22 fps)
User avatar
barakooda
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:08 pm

Re: FragTool

Postby cyberpatrolunit » Tue Dec 30, 2014 3:46 pm

This thing looks insanely awesome; however, I'm not sure where to start .. Preset morphing huh ? You should look at the Reaktor 5 community for inspiration ( if you haven't done so already ) they are masters of set parameter blending.
cyberpatrolunit
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 2:30 pm
Location: San Francisco

Next

Return to Shared .tox Components

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests