Page 1 of 17

TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 10:03 pm
by Ivan
TDAbleton - a connection system for TouchDesigner and Ableton Live

TDAbleton is a tool for linking TouchDesigner tightly with Ableton Live. It offers full access to just about everything going on in an Ableton set, both for viewing and setting. The TDAbleton system contains a number of Components for 2 way communication, and a framework for building custom Components and new features.
TDAbleton operates through Ableton's Midi Remote Scripts system and, when necessary, Max for Live (M4L) devices. Communication with TouchDesigner is via OSC (using udp). It is fully network capable, so TouchDesigner can be running on a separate machine from Ableton.

Do post feedback and especially any problems you have!
For installation instructions and documentation, visit the wiki page:
https://docs.derivative.ca/TDAbleton

A word on connection problems:
There is no way to query for an available OSC port, so most connection problems have to do with ports being used by other applications or not closed properly on application closing. If you have connection problems, here are a couple first things to try...
  • Close all applications, including sub-processes like external editors, then reload everything. Alternatively, just restart your computer and try again.
  • Change port numbers. Make sure they match in the TDA_Master device in Ableton and the tdAbleton COMP in TouchDesigner.

System Requirements:
  • TouchDesigner version 099 2018.28070 and up. (Many features will work on older versions)
  • Ableton Live 9.7.2 and up.
  • Max for Live 7.3.3 and up. (Note: Max 7.3.3 has a MIDI pitch bend bug. Use 7.3.4!)

Installation from zip (version 1.7.0 and up):
  • MIDI Remote Script is in Samples/TDAbleton/TouchDesigner. Copy it into your Ableton MIDI Remote Script folder.
  • Demo project is in Samples/TDAbleton/Demo Project. The best way to get tdAbletonPackage is from inside the TDAbletonDemo.toe in that folder: /project1/tdAbletonPackage.
  • The tricky part is that your TDA_* Max For Live devices must be updated. If you have used "collect and save", you may have to replace the .amxd files by hand. They can be found in the MIDI Remote Script folder.

Wiki documentation for the experimental version is in the "Discussion" area of the appropriate wiki pages for TDAbleton.

IMPORTANT:

We will no longer be releasing TDAbleton updates here in the forums. They will come out with TouchDesigner builds, so keep an eye on the build notes.

As always, post any bugs here or mention TDAbleton in the title if you create your own thread. If you have a bug emergency, I can send new versions separately so you don't have to wait for a new build.

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 6:05 am
by mynameiscorey
Can't wait to test this. Anything that improves the Ableton communication workflow is welcome news! Thanks

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 5:07 am
by why
Parameters don't seem to be able to be changed from TD, the just get reset to whatever value it was at before you start dragging the slider. And i am getting an error when trying to adjust Muugy's Auto Filter's Frequency parameter:

Code: Select all
# TDA Remote Script Error #
   File "/Applications/Ableton Live 9 Suite.app/Contents/App-Resources/MIDI Remote Scripts/TouchDesigner/TDA.py", line 205, in onMsgListener
       client.listeners.set(msg[0], msg[1]) # setterIndex, value
     File "/Applications/Ableton Live 9 Suite.app/Contents/App-Resources/MIDI Remote Scripts/TouchDesigner/Listeners.py", line 171, in set
       key[1], 'returnAddress:' + key[2])
   Exception: ('Error setting SONG.tracks[0].devices[4].parameters[5] property: value', 'returnAddress:/song/1_Muugy/Auto_Filter/Frequency/value')
# End TDA Remote Script Error #


I'm on a Mac using the latest build.

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 4:37 pm
by Ivan
Sure enough that one component failed to update in the demo. Fixed in 0.3.9 on original post.

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 6:58 pm
by why
not sure this is necessarily true:

Ableton parameters that are being controlled by TouchDesigner are not disabled in the Ableton interface, as is common when a value is being controlled by another value. Once TouchDesigner has altered an Ableton parameter value, that value's Ableton automation can only be restored in the Ableton interface.


can you use the function: re_enable_automation to turn back on automation?

looking through this: https://docs.cycling74.com/max7/vignett ... ject_model
says:
Trigger 'Back to Session Automation', re-activating automation in all running session clips.

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 5:16 pm
by Ivan
Yes, re_enable_automation can be used, but it is not built into the system yet. Still figuring out best method for that. Maybe just a pulse parameter. Any thoughts?

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:59 pm
by Ivan
Added beta 0.4.0 -

Networking improvements/stability
TDA MIDI device renamed to TDA_MIDI
Improved recovery from changes
Added Peter Sistrom's abletonKeyboardDisplay example

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:19 am
by ubboo
First install yesterday evening. Easy and works fine.
=> Bravo!
and thanks a lot.

What about "clip" or "session mode"?

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 1:59 pm
by Ivan
What about "clip" or "session mode"?


What about them? Can you be more specific please? Making a list of features people want...

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 8:46 pm
by les
Great work, Ivan!