Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Share your components here. First one to 100 wins!

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby visual-lies » Sun Jul 30, 2017 8:22 pm

Two ableton instances, one touchdesigner instance.
visual-lies
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby Ivan » Sun Jul 30, 2017 8:49 pm

Tricky. I have not tried that. I'll see if I can figure something out this week.
User avatar
Ivan
Staff
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby visual-lies » Sun Jul 30, 2017 9:19 pm

Very much appreciated. It seems like it should be possible but beyond my scope. But if we end up just having to use two TD instances so be it.

As it is we each have one macbook pro running ableton on it with the remotescript. Then we have one windows microatx with TD to run our video and leds with.
visual-lies
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby ubboo » Mon Jul 31, 2017 5:15 am

Hi Ivan,

Management of session mode also...

For instance, for each track, if a clip is currently running and which clip is played. Or launching from TD a specific clip in session mode.

The main idea is to be able to make that TD is reacting to live performance in session mode (and not recorded one in - arrangement mode)
Newbie in TouchDesigner (old Processing user).
Also interested by Ableton, Kinect and LeapMotion.
Involved into interaction between dance and music.
User avatar
ubboo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 11:34 am

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby Ivan » Mon Jul 31, 2017 12:39 pm

Yes lots of clip stuff coming soon for session mode! You can currently see the clip numbers (triggered and playing) in the abletonTrack component.
User avatar
Ivan
Staff
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby Ivan » Sat Aug 05, 2017 2:18 am

@visual-lies

Turns out there are some complications making one TD instance look at multiple Ableton instances. I will get to it eventually, but I have a list of other things I need to work on first. For now, you can run two TD instances and share data between them in any of the various ways Touch does that.
User avatar
Ivan
Staff
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby visual-lies » Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:39 pm

Thanks, I figured as much.

I will do what I can with what I have as we all do :D [*]
visual-lies
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby Ivan » Wed Aug 23, 2017 12:21 am

New Experimental version (1.0.0) of TDAbleton is available! See top post for download.

There are a bunch of new features in this latest version. Documentation is in the "discussion" section of the TDAbleton wiki pages.

New feature highlights:
  • TDA_Master Max Device - Allows song name and ID. Set TDAbleton's network port in Ableton. Connected indicator.
  • MIDI improvements - Allows sending MIDI data to Ableton. Last note pitch and velocity information.
  • Automatically map Ableton parameters
  • Clip information in abletonTrack component
  • Improve tdAbleton master Component - Report duplicate name issues. Listen only mode.
  • Improved, safer Auto Sync
  • Strip OSC address segments from CHOP channel names
  • TDAbletonCompBaseExt features - Request remote data from Ableton
  • Locators are now called Cue Points
User avatar
Ivan
Staff
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby Ivan » Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:41 am

Experimental version 1.1.0 fixes network problems when running TouchDesigner and Live on different computers. Thanks to Peter Sistrom for catching that one early!
User avatar
Ivan
Staff
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby mrouioui » Fri Aug 25, 2017 1:01 am

Wow! Sending midi directly to Ableton!
I have been dreaming of this! Especially for bypassing MaxMSP (Glad I didn't get a chance to to dig to deep into the Osc to Midi conversion yet, means more time to do actual work;)
User avatar
mrouioui
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 9:39 am
Location: Oslo

PreviousNext

Return to Shared .tox Components

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests