Page 16 of 17

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 4:20 am
by puck
Howdy,

Loving some of the new features In 1.18 Thanks!

One question ... I Don't seem to get any values coming into TD for TDA_Audio_Analyzer and TDA_Level COMPs ... any special tricks to getting these working ?
I Can control the marcos from TD tho and see it working on the Ableton End ...

Thanks

puck

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 6:18 pm
by Ivan
Hi Puck,

I'll dig into this next week.

Until then:
1) are you connecting locally or over network?
2) can you send your ableton log files (instructions in wiki if you don't know where they are) to ivan@derivative.ca?

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2019 8:00 pm
by Ivan
@Puck

I tested the audio analyzer and level COMPs and they're working fine on my machine. I wonder if you have a conflict on the Max Port. Try changing that in the tdMaster component parameters and the TDA Master device on the Live master track.

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:45 pm
by Ivan
Posted 1.18.1
  • fixes some problems with Rack initialization

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 7:21 pm
by Ivan
DO NOT USE! 1.18.2 is built incorrectly

Posted 1.18.2
  • Fix intermittent timing issues when initializing

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2019 8:27 pm
by Ivan
Posted 1.18.3
  • Fix major build error in 1.18.2

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 10:22 pm
by Ivan
IMPORTANT:

We will no longer be releasing TDAbleton updates here in the forums. They will come out with TouchDesigner builds, so keep an eye on the build notes.

As always, post any bugs here or mention TDAbleton in the title if you create your own thread. If you have a bug emergency, I can send new versions separately so you don't have to wait for a new build.

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 5:08 pm
by barouet
Hi, I started using TDA and ran some performance test. Quickly, I experienced performance issues while controlling some parameters on multiple tracks (18 tracks with 3 parameters per track being change @ 30fps). It seems that each module that I instantiate in TD (abletonChain, abletonParameter) cooks between 0.1 and 0.5 ms. Is there a strategy to have better performance for project involving numerous continuous parameter modification over multiple tracks?

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 5:40 pm
by Ivan
The most efficient way to control parameters in Live is to use the abletonRack component, put the devices you want to control inside it, and attach the rack's macros to the device parameters you want to control. and wire a CHOP into the abletonRack's input.

Using ableton component parameter controls is better used for setup and testing, not realtime performance.

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 5:57 pm
by barouet
Thanks, I'll look into it.
I also found that if I turn Off all of the oscin_ of each instances, performance gain is dramatic!
Perhaps we could implement a toggle to decide if a Component is Send only. Would that make sense?