Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Share your components here. First one to 100 wins!

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby cubanb95@gmail.com » Wed Jul 19, 2017 12:04 am

Has anyone tried this one a mac yet? for whatever reason TD is not connecting to the test ableton session
cubanb95@gmail.com
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 9:27 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby Ivan » Wed Jul 19, 2017 12:19 pm

It does work on Mac. First thing to try is flipping the Connect parameter on and off on the master tdAbleton Component. If that doesn't work, please email or post your Ableton log file.
User avatar
Ivan
Staff
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby boompje » Wed Jul 19, 2017 4:00 pm

Just wanted to say thanks for building this! I finally got a chance to dive into it today and already I am amazed how well it works and what possibilities this gives. Not only is this perfect for making synchronized live shows, it also works amazing for audiovisual installations by using ableton as the sound engine. Really really impressed by it and for sure we will incorporate this in future projects! Thank you!!
__
Roy.
boompje
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:23 am

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby cubanb95@gmail.com » Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:19 am

Got it to work. didnt realize I had to install the remote script...helps to RTFM. thanks for this!
cubanb95@gmail.com
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 9:27 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby puck » Wed Jul 26, 2017 9:36 am

Loving It , bit of a game changer!
Still getting my head round customizing the controls ... ie deleting a clip
on a clip slot... I assume this is possible?
puck
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 1:52 am

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby Ivan » Thu Jul 27, 2017 1:00 am

@puck

Clip features will be much improved in the next version.

Until then, you have the ability to delete a clip using this: http://www.derivative.ca/wiki099/index. ... .28code.29

The trick will be getting info about the clips, as runRemoteCode is a one-way command, no return data. This will also change in the next version.
User avatar
Ivan
Staff
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby ubboo » Thu Jul 27, 2017 3:19 pm

hi,

sorry for being not clear.

It seems that any informations in "session mode" like clips seems not manageable for now. Only datas from "arrangement mode" elements are exchanged.

Or I missed something.
Newbie in TouchDesigner (old Processing user).
Also interested by Ableton, Kinect and LeapMotion.
Involved into interaction between dance and music.
User avatar
ubboo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 11:34 am

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby Ivan » Thu Jul 27, 2017 4:33 pm

@ubboo

Ableton makes information in arrangement mode difficult (and apparently sometimes impossible) to access via the Live Object Model. I am looking at ways to hack this or add M4L devices that can help. I'd be interested to know what sort of information you're looking for from arrangement mode.
User avatar
Ivan
Staff
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby visual-lies » Sun Jul 30, 2017 6:18 pm

This is awesome. Can someone help me out as I am rather still TD Newbie.

Is there any way to get this demo project to work with two different computers running the ableton demo project?

I am working with a partner and we use Ableton Link with both our laptops for performance.

I can get it to work with either computer at a time.

I can also open the project file twice and work with both computers that way.

I would like to be able to access them both from the same project file. Making a copy of the tdAbleton and demo alone doesn't do it and I am not sure if theres an efficient way to get everything pointing to the correct spot.
visual-lies
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: TDAbleton - TouchDesigner Ableton Connection

Postby Ivan » Sun Jul 30, 2017 7:37 pm

I need to better understand what you're trying to do.

How many Ableton instances are running and how many Touch instances are running? And how are they interconnected?

It is easy to connect two Touch instances to one Ableton instance. Having a Touch instance connect to two Ableton instances is significantly more complicated, but probably doable. I haven't tried.
User avatar
Ivan
Staff
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 7:12 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Shared .tox Components

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests