Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

Indices DAT Value Parameter instead of Level

Send us your requests for enhancements (RFEs)

Indices DAT Value Parameter instead of Level

Postby itaru » Thu Apr 12, 2018 5:30 am

Indices DAT
https://www.derivative.ca/wiki099/index.php?title=Indices_DAT
gives us only 3 options "Coarse = 0, Medium = 1, Fine = 2." to make indices
but if user can just pick a value it'd be pretty handy

i.e. with current set of parameters
---
Start 0
End 100
Level 1
Origin 0
---
will return [0,5,10,......,95,100]

if there were Value parameter
---
Start 0
End 100
Value 18
Origin 0
---
would make [ 0, 18, 36, 54, 72, 90,100]
as you see it will not always return evenly divided indices but user will still get a list of numbers within the Start/End range
itaru
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 7:24 am

Re: Indices DAT Value Parameter instead of Level

Postby rob » Fri Apr 13, 2018 10:15 am

The Indices DAT dynamically spaces things in an intuitive manner.
In your case, you may just be better off with a single python expression:

Code: Select all
>>> sorted(list(set(range(0,100,18)+[100])))
[0, 18, 36, 54, 72, 90, 100]

Cheers.
User avatar
rob
Staff
 
Posts: 1461
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:14 am

Re: Indices DAT Value Parameter instead of Level

Postby itaru » Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:12 am

Thank you Rob, I was talking with Ivan yesterday and he gave me a similar python advise :)

When I was investigating how TouchDesigner is building the timeline I found the way Indices DAT is creating table dynamically and then it's being used as 'hash' for Table COMP very interesting.
It really works well for showing frame numbers but if we want to display timecode and split the table say every 00:00:02.00 or 00:00:05.00 depends on the time-range we are in, we need to sort numbers out. I somehow managed to write python script for that but it was big struggle and still not completely happy and that made me wish this post. just so you know,

anyways, Thanks again for the python tips!
itaru
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 7:24 am

Re: Indices DAT Value Parameter instead of Level

Postby rob » Fri Apr 13, 2018 9:05 pm

Does it work better if you simply multiply the result by a fixed value (example 18), then convert each of those frame-indices into its corresponding timecode?
User avatar
rob
Staff
 
Posts: 1461
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:14 am

Re: Indices DAT Value Parameter instead of Level

Postby itaru » Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:30 am

hmm I needed to do little more than that. I guess I should have been more specific but it's a bit hard to explain.. I attached a sample toe for what I was trying to archive.
This ones still not perfectly accurate but I hope you get the idea.

While writing the script I thought it could be much more simple if I had Value Parameter on Indices DAT.
Attachments
timecode_timeline.toe
(45.61 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
itaru
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 7:24 am


Return to Wishlist and RFEs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests