Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

NDI Feed Drop

Report bugs so we can squash them!

NDI Feed Drop

Postby Mallin » Tue Jul 03, 2018 6:36 pm

Today I discovered that NDI feeds between two instances of Touch are dropping signal.

On the same computer, I have two instances of Touchdesigner open. In the first instance, I am sending an NDI feed. In the second, I am receiving it. This is working as intended except that the feed drops every ~5 seconds. During the drop, the error message on the NDI in node reads "Unable to find the selected source name." Moments later, the feed reconnects until it drops again... this process continues forever.

I was curious if this problem was related to Touch specifically or NDI so I have tested NDI feeds using Newtek NDI Tools and OBS on the same machine - this performed without an issue. Therefore this appears to leave this as a Touchdesigner specific issue.

What could be interrupting the communication between the instances of Touch?

(This works fine on my Laptop - just not on my desktop)
Mallin
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 12:24 pm

Re: NDI Feed Drop

Postby Mallin » Tue Jul 03, 2018 8:08 pm

Upon further testing - NDI out from TD works flawlessly when being received into OBS or Newtek tools.

Thus, the problem is very specifically located to the NDI IN node within Touchdesigner.

Please, I am looking for an answer to this problem.

Thanks
Mallin
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 12:24 pm

Re: NDI Feed Drop

Postby raganmd » Tue Jul 03, 2018 8:41 pm

Hi rrmallin,

It's usually helpful to know a few other things when trying to track down what might be happening in a network.

It's always useful to know:

Operating System
TouchDesigner Version
TouchDesigner Build
Stable or Experimental

In the case of something like NDI - it's often useful to know the resolution of your output image and a few other pieces - are you running a real-time scene, or just sending played back video? Do you have a simple version of the project you can share, or can you replicate the issue by stripping out all of the other pieces... essentially trying to narrow down the process to exactly what might be causing a problem.
raganmd
 
Posts: 1297
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 5:21 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: NDI Feed Drop

Postby Mallin » Tue Jul 03, 2018 9:07 pm

Hi Matt!

Sorry if my previous explanation was unclear - I will try to lay it out more thoroughly.

OS Windows 10.
Happens on all stable versions TD 99.
I've tried most recent (TouchDesigner099.2018.22270.64-Bit)
As well as the first introduction of NDI (TouchDesigner099.2017.4060.64-Bit.)
Resolution on the feed doesn't matter - I have tried 1280x800 to 4k - same issue.

I am confident through trial and error that the problem is most certainly on my end, but specifically with Touchdesigner and the NDI IN node.

Anyways, here is the low-down...

I am trying to bring an NDI feed into an instance of Touchdesigner. Regardless of where the NDI source is generated (another instance of TD, OBS, Newtek tools, etc.) when it comes into Touchdesigner via the NDI IN node the behavior does the following;

I select the feed from the drop down menu;
The source loads and I can see it;
The feed is lost after approx. 5 seconds and an error icon appears on the node;
The error says "Unable to find the selected source name;"
The error goes away a couple seconds later;
The feed reconnects;
Repeat.

This error doesnt not occur if I send the same NDI feed from OBS to Newtek Tools or the vice versa - it only happens via the NDI IN node within TD.

My best guess is that there is some sort of Windows setting interrupting the communication specifically within TD - but is that even possible?

Please let me know if I can be more clear or if you need more information.

Thanks Matt for taking the time to write!

-Rob
Mallin
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 12:24 pm

Re: NDI Feed Drop

Postby malcolm » Wed Jul 04, 2018 10:46 am

Hey Rob,
Can you try build 2018.23760? We've upgraded to the latest NDI SDK in that version.
User avatar
malcolm
Staff
 
Posts: 4137
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:11 am

Re: NDI Feed Drop

Postby malcolm » Wed Jul 04, 2018 5:43 pm

If you have two nodes connected to the same source, do they both disconnect at the same time/reconnect at the same time?
What if they are in different processes, is the behavior different?
User avatar
malcolm
Staff
 
Posts: 4137
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:11 am

Re: NDI Feed Drop

Postby Mallin » Wed Jul 04, 2018 5:50 pm

Hey Malcolm,

I have tried a variety of builds including 2018.23760, and as mentioned, I am working on a fresh format.

When I have two NDI feeds, they both disconnect and reconnect at the same time.

-Rob
Mallin
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 12:24 pm

Re: NDI Feed Drop

Postby malcolm » Wed Jul 04, 2018 5:53 pm

Hey,
Is that true for when you have two NDI In TOPs in two different TD processes?
User avatar
malcolm
Staff
 
Posts: 4137
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:11 am

Re: NDI Feed Drop

Postby Mallin » Wed Jul 04, 2018 6:07 pm

With 1 instance sending two feeds to two separate instances; the feeds lasted a lot longer before dropping. However, they did drop, and do so at the same time even in separate instances.
Mallin
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 12:24 pm

Re: NDI Feed Drop

Postby malcolm » Wed Jul 04, 2018 6:09 pm

Interesting. Any chance you can do similar tests with 2 computers, with each one taking a turn being the sender? See if it fails in one case and not the other?
User avatar
malcolm
Staff
 
Posts: 4137
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:11 am

Next

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests