Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

KantanMapper errors

Report bugs so we can squash them!

KantanMapper errors

Postby Gallo » Tue Sep 03, 2019 8:46 am

Hi,

There seems to be an error in the KantanMapper tool :

- i usually get an error (red cross) on the Kantan COMP saying there is an issue in a script

- i don't know if this is related to the issue above but i have some issues when using a background mask in Kantan : i add a mask and activates it so it shows up in the kantan window. Next add a layer and draw a shape. And then if i delete this layer, the background mask also disappears. I can add another layer to draw a shape, the background remains black and when i draw the shape, background is flashing...

- also lockable feature for layers and groups doesn't seem to work ? when lock toggle is engaged, shapes handles remains draggable as well as layer transforms...

Thanks

TD 2019.18580
Windows 10 and MacOS 10.14.5
Last edited by Gallo on Thu Sep 05, 2019 6:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
Video Mapping / Digital art / Interactive installations / Creative coding
http://www.luxanima.io
User avatar
Gallo
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:46 am
Location: Paris

Re: KantanMapper script error

Postby Gallo » Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:43 am

see screenshots attached :

error flashes randomly
this error is then shown after creating a layer and then deleting it leaving the group empty

i also noticed that this is sometimes (random) impossible to create a shape : Kantan seems to not enter the edit/create mode after selecting the shape tool

Problem appears on macOS and Windows

thanks
Attachments
capture2.png
capture2.png (179.47 KiB) Viewed 439 times
capture1.png
capture1.png (163.53 KiB) Viewed 439 times
Video Mapping / Digital art / Interactive installations / Creative coding
http://www.luxanima.io
User avatar
Gallo
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:46 am
Location: Paris

Re: KantanMapper errors

Postby Gallo » Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:41 am

Hi,

I had this talk on facebook and someone got me some insights :

" for deleting a layer - dont use backspace / make sure the layer is clicked on in the left window > use the delete button if you have it on your keyboard
Don't know why but backspace sometimes deletes the whole bg mask - but try hitting h first on your keyboard in case it's just a viewport problem - it'll reset the view
And another janky workaround when kantan doesn't go into edit mode when you click on freeform or if the mask doesn't close itself - copy and paste the kantan - and switch over to the new kantan node and things should work normally again - this also resolves the red Cross error too
Make sure you save often when using kantan - it's def janky

also name each layer a unique name - noticed a bug where textures connections get reset to derivative randomly at startup "

Seems like Kantan Mapper needs some love :)

thanks
Video Mapping / Digital art / Interactive installations / Creative coding
http://www.luxanima.io
User avatar
Gallo
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:46 am
Location: Paris

Re: KantanMapper errors

Postby Gallo » Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:00 pm

ok,

seems like the error (or at least one of them) is that when i hit backspace or delete key while selecting the shape in the left column the geoCOMP created by the replicator in /kantanMapper/project/allShapes is not being deleted while it is when the shape is selected in the viewport

Don't know how to fix this though... :)

thanks
Video Mapping / Digital art / Interactive installations / Creative coding
http://www.luxanima.io
User avatar
Gallo
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:46 am
Location: Paris

Re: KantanMapper errors

Postby snaut » Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:30 pm

Hey,

trying to track down the delete issue which seems to be connected to the replicator not removing all operators. Still looking at it as I'm not able to reproduce this in the latest build.

In this version new shapes will get a unique name
Also alpha for freeform shapes has been fixed

Best
Markus
Attachments
kantanMapper.tox
(275.17 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
User avatar
snaut
Staff
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: KantanMapper errors

Postby Gallo » Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:38 pm

Hi Markus and thanks for the feedback.

Tried the attached tox with latest stable TD branch under macOS and still having the issue.

I will have a look at the experimental build

thanks
Video Mapping / Digital art / Interactive installations / Creative coding
http://www.luxanima.io
User avatar
Gallo
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:46 am
Location: Paris

Re: KantanMapper errors

Postby Gallo » Mon Sep 16, 2019 12:00 pm

hi !

any update on this ?

thanks
Video Mapping / Digital art / Interactive installations / Creative coding
http://www.luxanima.io
User avatar
Gallo
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:46 am
Location: Paris

Re: KantanMapper errors

Postby snaut » Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:49 pm

Hey,

the replication bug you are experiencing will be fixed in the next official release of TouchDesigner which should be out very shortly.

Best
Markus
User avatar
snaut
Staff
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: KantanMapper errors

Postby Gallo » Mon Sep 16, 2019 4:20 pm

hi !

well that's really great to hear !

thanks a lot
Video Mapping / Digital art / Interactive installations / Creative coding
http://www.luxanima.io
User avatar
Gallo
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:46 am
Location: Paris


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests