Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

Merge two tables with 'Replace cells by row' – Error?

Still a little green? Ask your beginner's questions here

Merge two tables with 'Replace cells by row' – Error?

Postby avnor » Thu Jul 12, 2018 6:41 pm

Hey there,

I'm trying to merge two tables. Both consist of two columns each [id, name]. Table1 carries a series of id's (duplicate id's present) and empty cells for the name. Table2 has the information on the names for each id. I want to merge them, so that each cell holds a value, even though they are redundant.

When I use the Merge.DAT with 'replace cells by rows' it does the job only once per matching id. It does not fill the cell with a name for a duplicate id. Do I understand this method wrong or is there a little bug?

Thanks in advance.
Norman
Attachments
merge_tables.tox
merge-set-up including a table in the style of my desired result
(550 Bytes) Downloaded 16 times
avnor
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 5:02 pm

Re: Merge two tables with 'Replace cells by row' – Error?

Postby raganmd » Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:21 pm

I don't know if the merge DAT supports multiple matches - if you don't have a huge table / need a solution right away you can get there with a script DAT:
merge_tables_script_dat.tox
(1014 Bytes) Downloaded 20 times
raganmd
 
Posts: 1296
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 5:21 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: Merge two tables with 'Replace cells by row' – Error?

Postby avnor » Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:44 pm

Hey Matthew,

thank you for your help. It works with the script.dat. It keeps up the performance even with longer tables and resulting higher cook times.

It still leaves me a bit baffled when I think about the method itself and why it might not support multiple matches … anyway, the script works!

Thanks again and have a good weekend!
*N
avnor
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 5:02 pm


Return to Beginners

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests