Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

Quadro FX 3500M / Dell M90?

Discuss graphics hardware, computer hardware, and input/output devices to use with TouchDesigner

Quadro FX 3500M / Dell M90?

Postby Achim » Tue Feb 26, 2008 9:38 am

Got a good offer for a dell m90 with Quadro FX 3500M GPU. Before buying it, I got a couple of questions.
As the offer is expiring tomorrow any info would be highly appreciated.

Does a quadro card offer any advantages in touch designer, compared to the consumer version?

Are there any known issues in touch designer with this (or any Quadro) GPU and/or the notebook itself?


Thanks
Achim

Cologne area TD artists? Let’s get in touch

Achim
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 1:52 pm
Location: Cologne

Re: Quadro FX 3500M / Dell M90?

Postby malcolm » Tue Feb 26, 2008 1:24 pm

Hey, there are no known issues with Quadros and Touch (we use them quite a bit ourselves). But also there are no real benefits for using them except maybe performance, but you are paying for that performance with the increased cost anyway.

I think Jarrett has an M90 so I'll ask him to make a post here about any issues he may have had with the notebook itself.
User avatar
malcolm
Staff
 
Posts: 4425
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:11 am

Re: Quadro FX 3500M / Dell M90?

Postby jarrett » Tue Feb 26, 2008 2:27 pm

I have an M90 with a Quadro 2500. Its been a great laptop. Super stable, nice feel. I have the 1920x1600 screen. A lot of people complain my screen is too high resolution but I find it quite comfortable. I still havent found a better laptop on the market. Its fairly sleek considering it's size. The fact it takes 4GB of memory is a plus as is the fact it supports XP64 nicely. Only negative is that the 2500/3500 doesnt support geometry shaders. That puts it one generation behind already. Not sure you can get an 8000 series upgrade?

P.S.

Dont run Vista yet. I bought my dad a laptop over the weekend and I have never been so annoyed with an operating system. Crazy slow doing the most mundane things. I am completely blown away how poorly that OS behaves - takes 2 minutes just to turn off a brand new HP laptop. I will continue looking at why and hopefully overtime Mircosoft will get its act together.

J
______________________
Jarrett Smith
Derivative
User avatar
jarrett
Staff
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:12 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Quadro FX 3500M / Dell M90?

Postby Achim » Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:03 pm

Thanks jarrett,

since yesterday you can also get a precision m6300 with a FX 3600M (= 8800M). I'm gonna go for the m90 anyway as it's half the price and I'll probably not use/learn geometry shaders anytime soon. Almost all "gamer" laptops with 8xxx series GPU have glossy display, no xp(64) support .... so the m90 still seems to be the way to go.

The screen resolution is a real issue. I wanna to buy a laptop where the screen resolution matches the one of most external monitors. My hope is that more monitors/projectors will be able to work with that "close to 1080p resolution" than with 1400 x 900 (or 1680 x 1050) signals. Do you have experience in this regard? Or anyone else?

One more question. If my synth renders in 720p and it's running on a system with 1920 x 1200 resolution, what kind of impact does the additional resolution have on performance? I mean, is it very expensive to scale up the fullscreen output for the second monitor and draw the touchUI/controlpanel at a higher resolution?

Cologne area TD artists? Let’s get in touch

Achim
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 1:52 pm
Location: Cologne

Re: Quadro FX 3500M / Dell M90?

Postby malcolm » Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:16 pm

The Dell 24 inch monitors all run at 1920x1200 which matches the resolution of the m90 (Jarrett's post was a type, the M90 is actually 1920x1200).

I haven't seen a case where the upscale/downscale operation on the 2nd monitor causes any slowdown. In theory its the exact same thing as a Resolution TOP, which is the cheapest TOP we have.
User avatar
malcolm
Staff
 
Posts: 4425
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:11 am

Re: Quadro FX 3500M / Dell M90?

Postby Achim » Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:32 pm

Thanks Malcolm,

I'm more concerned about all those LCD TVs and video projectors. I think I read that these can't always easily handle non HD resolutions (1400x900 or 1680x1050). As the M90's 1920x1200 is closer to a real HD resolution I'm hoping that more devices can handle the input signal.

Cologne area TD artists? Let’s get in touch

Achim
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 1:52 pm
Location: Cologne

Re: Quadro FX 3500M / Dell M90?

Postby rodberry » Fri Feb 29, 2008 12:34 am

I agree with Jarrett that the m90 is nice. A friend has one and used it for tough quite happily.

I have aM6300 and agreee that the big-ass screen resolution is great for making big touch networks. The M-series tend to have a nice screen, more matt than the XPS game machines although the latter probably deliver more speed but the M's give more beauty :)

I was actually trying to get a XPS but they weren't available in singapore at the time, but I really like the non-shiny screen on the one I got.

rod.
User avatar
rodberry
 
Posts: 1068
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:51 pm
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests