Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

New CPlusPlus CHOP plugin for Slamtec A1

Discuss graphics hardware, computer hardware, and input/output devices to use with TouchDesigner

New CPlusPlus CHOP plugin for Slamtec A1

Postby thepelkus » Sun Jul 14, 2019 8:37 pm

Hey folx!

If anyone has one of the Slamtec lidar sensors laying around, I've just released the first version of a cpp chop plugin for hooking it up to TD. I've only used it with the A1, but I think it might work with the A2 and A3. Feedback and code PRs welcome!

(Please be kind—it's been ages since I've written c++ or done any project wrangling in visual studio.)

https://github.com/thepelkus-too/Slamte ... s/tag/v0.1
thepelkus
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 7:45 pm

Re: New CPlusPlus CHOP plugin for Slamtec A1

Postby thepelkus » Mon Jul 15, 2019 4:01 pm

Update to v.2!

https://github.com/thepelkus-too/Slamte ... es/tag/0.2

Fixes:
- Data now properly fills out all of the samples in the CHOP in Cartesian mode
- Data doesn't persist in spots where distance goes from non-zero to zero
thepelkus
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 7:45 pm

Re: New CPlusPlus CHOP plugin for Slamtec A1

Postby Simplo » Wed Aug 14, 2019 11:21 am

Hi Thepelkus, thank you so much for your sharing!
I'm a newbie in lidar and I'm very interested in your experience.
What kind of data the A1 and your CHOP will give?
Am I right supposing that I will get a grid of values representing the distance of obstacles from the device at each angle?
My idea is to use it to get position of a ball hitting a wall, for example.
Thank you in advance.
Simplo
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 5:39 am

Re: New CPlusPlus CHOP plugin for Slamtec A1

Postby thepelkus » Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:22 pm

Simplo wrote:What kind of data the A1 and your CHOP will give?
Am I right supposing that I will get a grid of values representing the distance of obstacles from the device at each angle?


That's about right! The device returns a set of signals that are basically (angle, distance) pairs. The plugin allows you to take that data in as two channels of a CHOP representing angle and distance, or there's a setting that allows you to switch the channels to be (x, y) pairs.

Hopefully I'll get around to making a sample video of working with it one of these days!
thepelkus
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 7:45 pm


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests