projection matrix dilemma

i’m new to the concept of projection matrices. here’s my dilemma.

i have successfully applied a projection matrix to a camera. i have a light that i want to use as a projector. i want the light to project a render of the camera’s view- matching all of the camera’s parameters. it’s easy to place the light in the proper location and rotate it properly- but i don’t know how to match the camera’s fov to the light’s projection map fov.

i’ve done this in the past without using a projection matrix, simply matching the light’s projangle parameter to the camera’s fov parameter. it could be a distant light or a cone light, it always works.

my camera and light both use the same projection matrix. but the matrix does not affect the light’s projangle.

is it possible to extract or access the actual camera fov value when a matrix is applied? in the camera’s view tab, all the parameters i’d like to access become greyed out and display default values when a matrix is applied.

i investigated using a custom projection on the light, but i don’t think that is what i want. it seems like it will not affect the projangle parameter.

Unfortunately we can’t automatically extract an FOV from a projection matrix because not all projection matrices have an FOV, such as a orthographic one. Or the projection matrix can be something super custom like a circular projection. The projection may be asymetic also, meaning it’ll have different FOVs at different parts of the output.