GrandMA+TD_performing: conceptual structure

Hello,
I am a theatre lighting designer and I’ve been working with lighting boards for so long. I decided to switch to TD this year as it is less restrictive than a linear cue list. However, I find myself stucked with the problem of midi controllers to trigger and modify my effects, and from my point of view the midi controller are in no way more interesting than dmx controllers, plus they are less precise. So my questions are:

• Is there anyway I can use a GrandMA 2 on PC to control TD (instead of buying midi controller such as novation MK2)?
  • If yes, are there any online ressource that would be helpfull? I can find nothing
  • If no, what midi controller would you suggest? Faderpro16? Novation MK2?
    As my main expertise lies in theatre, I need something that will allow veeery smooooth light transitions (which is difficult with cheap faders) and flexible interface.
    Thanks!

Hello,
I was, during ten years, light designer and since ten years I do mainly images for the stage, first with Director, then Isadora, now TouchDesigner. I try to give you my experience.
– nothing is better than proper light board to manage a show with a lot of spots, you have memories, sequences, group, subgroups, chaser etc. and you can send orders from TD.
– managing a simple 30" fade from 20 blue lights to 20 yellow lights is not so easy to do for the machine.
– you have to reinvent the wheel for the memories, the sequence, the timer, the correction
– you have to reinvent the wheel for the UI
– you have to reinvent the wheel for the midi interface (I recommend Mackie MCU Pro)
I use TD for light for mini set (less than 24 channels) when I am alone to do light, video and sound and if I need a very tight sync between light and video/sound. I use a lanbox to avoid most of the memory management in TD, I just have to send order to go to cue but I can also send isolated commands.