Generate an electric arc between two points

Hello,

This is my first message here, so I will present myself a little bit.
I’m Flo, and I’m a motion designer (working with After Effects).

I want to learn to use TD to be able to work on interactive projects (projection mapping, etc.)
I went trough several tutorials, but I’m still a beginner.

I need to create an electric arc between two points, in order to imitate a Tesla coil.

Right now here is the network I created:
Line (with point A and B) > Noise > Noise > Geo > Render

I will then use some feedback > level > over
to give the electrical aspect…

But the result is not really nice… not realistic enough…

So my question is, how would you create this kind of effect ?
Is there something that simulate electrical arcs?
Any tutorial or source file already existing that could be usefull for my learning quest ?

Thanks a lot !
Flo :smiley:

Hi Flo, years ago I created a very similar effect using the LSystem SOP to create a randomly branched structure. It’s length randomly changed from frame to frame, so then I then remapped it to fit between two specific points.

I can’t find the code, but TouchDesigner LSystems is based off Side Effect’s Houdini’s LSystems, and you may be able to find simple lightning examples in their discussions.
The syntax should be the same.

Hope that helps,
Rob.

Hi Rob,

Thank you for the suggestion, I will look into LSystems.
I’ve found some exemple files with different trees and branched structures.

How would you remap it between two specific points?
Thanks a lot !

If you using a Transform SOP you’ll be able to scale to a a given input bounding box, though that requires the lightning to lie along some axis.
Align SOP can also be used to first orient a set of polygons along another direction as well.
Lots of different techniques in the end.

Post a simplified version of some SOP output here, and that might help us generate some techniques for mapping it

-Rob