movie switch , play and stop

Hi ,

I am sorry if there are already posts about this subject but I cannot find a solution to my problem.

I am a TD beginner and am currently working on an interactive installation using video, sound and webcam feed.

The video switch index data comes from a LFO - count association.
The switch works well between the videos.

My problem is that all the videos are playing all the time in their respective movie file in TOP. My frame rate is pretty low and I think it might be the problem as all the videos are always cooked and the CPU cook time is high ( even 50 sometimes).

How can I stop the videos when their indexes is not the one currently playing by the switch ?

Please consider I am also new to Pyhton :wink:

thanks a lot ! Have a great day

Julie

touch designer is a pull-based system. A common misconception with cooking in TouchDesigner is that cooking starts upstream and moves downstream. But “Pull-based” means only the nodes cook which are connected to a node further down the line which needs its output, or if you are watching the output of this node.
The Order Of Cooking:
derivative.ca/wiki088/index. … of_Cooking
What Causes Cooking:
derivative.ca/wiki088/index. … es_Cooking

So if you use a Switch TOP which switches between 2 video inputs, only the one Movie IN TOP cooks which is connected by the Switch Top to your output node. (unless you are watching the live output of each Movie In Top in edit mode)

So try switching to perform mode, and see if your framerate goes up. And if you are in Edit mode, you can switch off the Display flags of each Movie in TOP (so you are not looking at output of those nodes, so they don’t cook). You can see animated lines between the nodes that cook.

Besides this, also try using the HAP codec for your movie files, which is very light for your CPU and is mainly decoded by your GPU.
derivative.ca/wiki088/index.php?title=Hap

thanks

Hi Julie,