Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

Buttons work in Network Editor NOT in Perform Mode

Still a little green? Ask your beginner's questions here

Buttons work in Network Editor NOT in Perform Mode

Postby AntillesAdmin » Wed Dec 26, 2018 12:15 pm

Good day all. I’m new to TouchDesigner and struggling with working buttons in a control panel.

I’m trying to build a small network to run a manual slideshow with outputs to multiple displays. The project needs manual buttons in a control panel to play the next and previous media files from a folder.
I setup the project with a Folder DAT for the slideshow source material. The Folder DAT is sorted and connected to a null.
I then built a button counter using momentary buttons with Merge, Count, Math, and Limit chops. The counter pulls the .numRows from the Folder DAT and sets the maximum limit with a loop. Finally a CHOP Exec (OffToOn) gets the counter value, finds the movie path using counter value, assigns the path to MovieIn TOP and Preloads the movie.

All above works as expected when working in the Network editor. However, when I put the project in Perform mode the buttons above are not working.

The goal is to have all the buttons on the control panel. As my buttons are all momentary I thought I could accomplish this with a .click(). In my control panel container, I made a new button connected to a Select CHOP to a CHOP Exec DAT. In perform mode this button works once, then it seems to fail to advance the counter and load the next MovieIn path.

I then recreated the entire Folder DAT and Button Counter logic in my Control Panel container. The results are the same. The counter and movie load behavior works great in the Network Editor. Yet once I put in Perform Mode the buttons work for a click or two, then stop working not advancing the counter.

Attached in a revision of the project. Any help is greatly appreciated!!!
Attachments
PJHConsole0.11.5.52.toe
(12.81 KiB) Downloaded 42 times
AntillesAdmin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:25 am

Re: Buttons work in Network Editor NOT in Perform Mode

Postby pixelux » Thu Dec 27, 2018 11:50 am

Hello,
I’m not able to check your network but you may set your null chop at the end of your flow to « always cook « see if it fix your issue.
It is a Touch Designer feature : Only operators that contribute to the final output are cooking.
In editor mode, all operators with viewer active on screen are cooking which is not the case anymore when switching to perform mode.
You can check for cooking in the wiki.

Xavier
Xavier G.
User avatar
pixelux
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:10 pm
Location: Digne les bains

Re: Buttons work in Network Editor NOT in Perform Mode

Postby AntillesAdmin » Fri Dec 28, 2018 1:56 pm

Xavier,

THANK YOU!!!
It was the Null CHOP at the end of my button counter that was the issue. Setting the Null CHOP to ALWAYS COOK resolved the problem!

Thanks again for your help!!!
AntillesAdmin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:25 am


Return to Beginners

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests