Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

Max/MSP Gate operator

Send us your requests for enhancements (RFEs)

Max/MSP Gate operator

Postby elburz » Sat May 11, 2013 2:49 pm

A DAT and CHOP version of this would be great. It's basically a Switch DAT in reverse. The Switch takes a bunch of inputs and choose which to pass based on index. This takes one input and chooses where it goes based on index.

http://cycling74.com/docs/max5/refpages ... /gate.html
--
Elburz Sorkhabi
Creative + Technology
nVoid Art-Tech Limited
http://nvoid.com
elburz
 
Posts: 1994
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:55 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Max/MSP Gate operator

Postby tetkin » Tue May 14, 2013 12:31 am

That would be really useful.
I don't know of any operators that have variable numbers of outputs though.
User avatar
tetkin
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:32 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Max/MSP Gate operator

Postby prochoy » Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:01 pm

+1
prochoy
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2014 2:20 pm

Re: Max/MSP Gate operator

Postby doctorhandshake » Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:15 pm

+1
Noah Norman
http://hardwork.party

codename: massapequa
User avatar
doctorhandshake
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 6:31 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Max/MSP Gate operator

Postby flowb » Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:13 am

What gets sent to the unselected channels?

I think this concept works in Max because it has and atomic events that trigger node cooks. TDs ops mostly cook every frame.

Maybe I'm misunderstanding.
User avatar
flowb
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 2:00 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Max/MSP Gate operator

Postby doctorhandshake » Fri Apr 13, 2018 3:27 pm

Editing this because I didn't notice the 'routing' behavior of the Max gate — (although Max distinguishes between gate and route they share that behavior)

I think the behavior should be equivalent to anything downstream, connected to an output that is 'off' from the gate, would see nothing upstream and thus couldn't pull a cook out of the elements upstream of the gate unless it were patched through (or connected).
Noah Norman
http://hardwork.party

codename: massapequa
User avatar
doctorhandshake
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 6:31 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Max/MSP Gate operator

Postby ben » Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:28 pm

What does 'Off' mean though? Sending a value of '0' or sending no channels, the latter which throws errors and the former '0' is not the same as sending nothing. A parameter setting for "Default Off Value'?
User avatar
ben
Staff
 
Posts: 2221
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: Max/MSP Gate operator

Postby doctorhandshake » Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:47 pm

Just spitballing here and I’d prob have to poke at the Max component a bit. I think rather than think of this as a gate it’s better to think of its function as a route. A par (or a value in its first inlet) determines which of its outputs (and the multi-output thing is the new part of the paradigm) receives the signal. The rest of the outputs send either nothing (as in the ops they’re connected to see nothing on their input), a default value, or hold the last value they got. Perhaps even the ‘route’ argument can be a list or range of values determining which of many outlets receives the input’s value.

The goal is to be able to redirect the output of one op to one of multiple destinations without the use of a bunch of switch ops or scripting a bunch of select ops. As Elburz said, the opposite of a switch.
Noah Norman
http://hardwork.party

codename: massapequa
User avatar
doctorhandshake
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 6:31 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Max/MSP Gate operator

Postby flowb » Sat Apr 14, 2018 1:56 am

It seems like some of the conceptual disconnect here comes from the fact that data is pushed through Max/Msp networks, but more often polled, or pulled through TD networks. Broadly speaking, operators that are 'live' (actively, participating in creating the composition) should not have their inputs spontaneously go dark as a matter of course.

I don't want to be unilaterally against the idea, but the use case so far sounds like something that would be better engineered in a different way.
User avatar
flowb
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 2:00 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Max/MSP Gate operator

Postby archo-p » Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:56 pm

I've been using delete CHOPs to do this for channels. I just set to delete non-scoped and then delete by channel index. Of course this still requires multiple deletes if you want multiple "outs" but you could make a little component that creates more delete/out pairs as needed...

One RFE though for this might be to have a numeric parameter for selecting a single index via another channel instead of having to put an expression to look at the chop channel of your "controller chop" in the selnumbers parameter ( which is a string parameter right now to allow for ranges and such )

Attaching a simple tox to show what I'm talking about ( this doesn't dynamically make new outputs or selection parameters, just set to 3 right now and no error correction if you select out of range).
Attachments
gateSelector.tox
(814 Bytes) Downloaded 21 times
User avatar
archo-p
 
Posts: 471
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 3:03 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Next

Return to Wishlist and RFEs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests