Build to .exe // no client-side license

Recently as my clients getting more projects delivered to them with Unreal and Unity they fall in love with idea of them getting just a standard .exe file that just works as expected and they don’t need to worry about anything else.

Here’s how it works now: as a developer I either have to tell all my clients “oh, yes you also need to buy td license and register it under your email account” which sounds uncool because we are trying to deliver full turn-key system (and clients hate the fact that they need additionally to pay for a license on top of everything). So the second option is to activate client’s license under your account. Which gives you a headache in the future in situations like client want to switch machines, or they reinstalled windows and didn’t know that they need to deactivate license prior to that etc.

I already have one major client that I delivered 6-7 td installations to said to me “I want you to switch for UE for upcomings projects because I love the idea of simply having an exe and don’t need to pay extra and maintain any licenses”

Also, formally you can’t buy a license under your account and have your client use it. Since formally it is your company who has the license for the software and playback not cloent’s company. I also had one major client turn me down because of this issue (they didn’t want to maintain and buy licenses on their own but they had legal problems with me owning their license)

Soooo. What I propose is for derivative to make some kind of enterprise license and all projects made with this license are:

1. Delivered as a toe file for enterprise touchPlayer - which requires absolutely no registration steps, just download and use
  2. (Ideally) delivered as an .exe file
1 Like